Mathematical Olympiad

The Mathematical Olympiad is a mathematics competition in which young people from all over Switzerland who are enthusiastic about mathematics can exchange ideas and compete against each other. The competition consists of several rounds as well as numerous preparatory meetings and a week-long camp for the finalists. Our goal is to share our enthusiasm for mathematics with young people, to support them intellectually and for them to gain valuable professional and social experience together with their peers. You can read more about the Olympiad here.

Second Round - Final Results

In addition to the direct qualified participants, ten others received a Wildcard and can participate at the Final Round. They are

 

Ivan VoevodskiiLucio IneichenAisha AzhgaliyevaElias Baumann
Jovian SoejonoAndrej ŠeveraEmil SpiessJanik Kobler
Noelia CheriditoHongjia Meng  

 

as well as Tobias Marxer and Leonhard Hasler from Liechtenstein. Congratulations to all of them.

 

 

Additionally, the 4 best female participants Anna Kokorich, Evelyn Ebneter, Lena Libort and Aisha Azhgaliyeva will represent Switzeraldn at EGMO 2023, which will take place in Slovenia in April. Congratulations to them.

 

 

Last but not least, bravo to the 14 participants qualified for the Junior Camp, which will take place in June. The following people are qualified:

 

Emil SpiessHongjia MengSvenja FelberGilles Bärtschi
Benoît Schmit Simona SchwingYuanheng LiuKaiwen Zhang
Aliaksei BadnarchukIshan ShahJulius ScherlerMaximilian Alexandrov
Myriam FaltinPranavendrareddy TammireddyAmélie RocherYuxuan Xiao

 

Congratulations to everyone who participated!

Second Round Results

On Saturday morning, the second round exam took place in Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano and the corrections are now complete. This year, the cutoff to be in the top 18 and directly qualified for the Final Round was 31 points. Bravo to Anna Kokorich, Bora Olmez and Mathys Douma for their perfect score of 42 points! The following people are qualified:

 

Anna KokorichBora OlmezMathys DoumaAanya Goyal
Felix XuJerry SchuppMohamed BouchouataJonah Osterwalder
Louis RennerEvelyn EbneterMark NeumannEric Wermelinger
Fynn KrebserIvan PoulyChengjie HuFelizian Vocke
David ReichmuthLena Libort  

 

Seven other contestants will also qualify as wildcards. These will be chosen at the end of December.

 

Second Round Meetings

The three second round meetings took place throughout autumn. Qualified participants were able to attend the preparation courses and train with numerous exercises.
If you missed one of the courses you can find the scripts and exercises here. You can also practice with exams from previous years which you can find here.
The second round exam will take place on Saturday 17 December at 10 am in Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano. If you have any questions, you can send us an e-mail: . Good luck!

 

First Round Results

The first round took place during the month of September and is now finished. In total 1692 participants took the test, 1115 in the senior category and 577 in the junior category. Congratulations to all of them for their efforts.

 

Among all the participants, 265 have qualified for the meetings and the second round which will take place during the next three months. Congratulations to Emil Spiess, Jakob Ehlers and Chenhe Fan who ranked highest in the junior category with 454, 396 and 377 points, and to Marco Vaccaro, Aanya Goyal and Mark Neumann who obtained the best scores in the senior category with 446, 412 and 405 points.

 

 

First round: join us

The first round of the Swiss Mathematical Olympiad has started. You can participate online throughout the month of September or ask your math teacher to participate in class. Sign up and participate here. You can find more information on this website. Good luck!

 

A successful IMO 2022 in Oslo

After the previous two International Mathematical Olympiads (IMO) were held virtually, this year's IMO took place as an in person event in Oslo in July. Switzerland was represented by our very successful team, consisting of Bora Olmez, Elia Steinfeld, Felix Xu, Mathys Douma, Ricardo Olivo und Yanta Wang. Bora, Mathys, Ricardo and Yanta secured four Bronze medals, and Elia and Felix completed an excellent team result with two honourable mentions! 

 

FLTR: Felix, Bora, Mathys, Yanta, Ricardo, Elia

Further congratulations to Tobias Marxer, who formed the Liechtenstein team and was also awarded with an honorable mention!  

 

Medienmitteilung

Resultate

The Final Round 2022 is over!

The 25 Swiss finalists and the two participants from Liechtenstein spent an exciting week in Aarburg, filled with plenty of cool mathematical problems, but also many rounds of our favourite game Tichu and other games and sports.

 

 

At the end of the week, the 27 students demonstrated their skills during two four-hour exams. Congratulations to all 12 medalists, and especially to Mathys Douma, who scored 43 points and emerged as the winner of this year’s Final round!

 

 

Our twelve medalists and the three Wildcard recipients now move on to the team selection for this year’s International and Middle European Mathematical Olympiads. Furthermore, Emily Dikhoff, Evelyn Ebneter, Moyang Zhang and Yanta Wang will represent Switzerland at this year’s European Girl’s Mathematical Olympiad in Hungary in April.

 

And finally, a big round of applause to all the participants for your great efforts and results!

Recommend us

Do you know someone who might be interested in the Mathematical Olympiad? Recommend us to them! Whether it be students, parents or teachers, the more people know about us, the better.

Mathematik-Olympiade

Die Mathematik-Olympiade ist ein Mathematikwettbewerb, an welchem sich jedes Jahr mathematikbegeisterte Jugendliche aus der ganzen Schweiz austauschen und messen können. Der Wettbewerb besteht aus mehreren Runden sowie zahlreichen Vorbereitungstreffen und einem einwöchigen Lager für die Finalistinnen und Finalisten. Unser Ziel ist es, unsere Begeisterung zur Mathematik mit jungen Leuten zu teilen, diese intellektuell zu fördern und zusammen mit ihnen wertvolle fachliche sowie soziale Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Mehr über die Olympiade erfahren Sie hier.

Zweite Runde - Endergebnisse

Zusätzlich zu den direkt qualifizierten Teilnehmer*innen haben zehn weitere eine Wildcard erhalten und können somit an der Finalrunde teilnehmen. Es handelt sich um

 

Ivan VoevodskiiLucio IneichenAisha AzhgaliyevaElias Baumann
Jovian SoejonoAndrej ŠeveraEmil SpiessJanik Kobler
Noelia CheriditoHongjia Meng  

 

sowie Tobias Marxer und Leonhard Hasler aus Liechtenstein. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an alle.

 

 

Die vier besten Teilnehmerinnen Anna Kokorich, Evelyn Ebneter, Lena Libort und Aisha Azhgaliyeva werden die Schweiz an der EGMO 2023 vertreten, die 2023 in Slowenien stattfindet. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an sie.

 

 

Herzlichen Glückwunsch auch an die sechzehnTeilnehmer*innen, die sich für das Junior Camp qualifiziert haben, das im Juni stattfinden wird. Die folgenden Personen haben sich qualifiziert:

 

Emil SpiessHongjia MengSvenja FelberGilles Bärtschi
Benoît Schmit Simona SchwingYuanheng LiuKaiwen Zhang
Aliaksei BadnarchukIshan ShahJulius ScherlerMaximilian Alexandrov
Myriam FaltinPranavendrareddy TammireddyAmélie RocherYuxuan Xiao

 

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an alle Teilnehmer und Teilnehmer.innen.

 

Resultate der zweiten Runde

Am Samstag Morgen fand die Zweite Runde der Mathematikolympiade in Zürich, Lausanne and Lugano statt und die Korrekturen sind nun alle erledigt. Die besten 18 Teilnehmenden qualifizierten sich direkt für die Finalrunde, dafür waren 31 Punkte notwendig. Ein grosses Bravo an Anna Kokorich, Bora Olmez and Mathys Douma für das Erreichen der Maximalpunktzahl von 42 Punkten! Die folgenden Teilnehmenden haben sich direkt qualifiziert:

 

Anna KokorichBora OlmezMathys DoumaAanya Goyal
Felix XuJerry SchuppMohamed BouchouataJonah Osterwalder
Louis RennerEvelyn EbneterMark NeumannEric Wermelinger
Fynn KrebserIvan PoulyChengjie HuFelizian Vocke
David ReichmuthLena Libort  

 

Sieben andere Teilnehmende werden sich ebenfalls mit Wildcards qualifizieren. Diese werden Ende Dezember entschieden.

 

Vorbereitungstreffen der zweiten Runde

Die drei Treffen der zweiten Runde fanden den ganzen Herbst über statt. Qualifizierte Teilnehmende konnten die Vorbereitungskurse besuchen und mit zahlreichen Übungen trainieren.
Falls du einen der Kurse verpasst hast, findest du hier die Skripte und Übungen. Du kannst auch mit den Prüfungen der vergangenen Jahre üben, die du hier findest.
Die Prüfung der zweiten Runde findet am Samstag, den 17. Dezember um 10 Uhr in Zürich, Lausanne und Lugano statt. Wenn du Fragen hast, kannst du uns eine E-Mail schicken: . Viel Glück!

 

 

Resultate der Ersten Runde

Die erste Runde fand im September statt und ist nun beendet. Insgesamt haben 1692 Teilnehmer:innen den Test abgelegt, 1115 in der Kategorie Senior und 577 in der Kategorie Junior. Gratulation an alle für ihre Bemühungen.

 

Von allen Teilnehmer:innen haben sich 265 für die Treffen und die zweite Runde qualifiziert, die in den nächsten drei Monaten stattfinden werden. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Emil Spiess, Jakob Ehlers und Chenhe Fan, die in der Kategorie Junior mit 454, 396 und 377 Punkten am besten abgeschnitten haben, sowie an Marco Vaccaro, Aanya Goyal und Mark Neumann, die in der Kategorie Senior mit 446, 412 und 405 Punkten die besten Ergebnisse erzielten.

 

 

Erste Runde: Mach mit

Die erste Runde der Schweizer Mathematik Olympiade hat begonnen. Du kannst während dem ganzen September online daran teilnehmen oder du fragst deine Mathe-Lehrperson, ob du während dem Unterricht mitmachen kannst. Hier anmelden und teilnehmen. Du findest weitere Informationen auf der Website. Viel Glück!

 

Erfolg an der IMO 2022 in Oslo

Die Internationale Mathematik-Olympiad (IMO) fand im Juli 2022 in der Norwegischen Hauptstadt Oslo statt (nach zwei online Jahren auch endlich wieder in Person). Vertreten wurde die Schweiz von Bora Olmez, Elia Steinfeld, Felix Xu, Mathys Douma, Ricardo Olivo und Yanta Wang – und das mit grossem Erfolg! Bora, Mathys, Ricardo und Yanta sorgten für stolze vier Bronzemedaillien, und Elia und Felix vervollständigten die tolle Teamleistung mit zwei Ehrenmeldungen.

 

v.l.n.r.: Felix, Bora, Mathys, Yanta, Ricardo, Elia

Herzliche Gratulation auch an Tobias Marxer, der das Liechtensteinische Team bildete und ebenfalls mit einer Ehrenmeldung ausgezeichnet wurde. 

 

Medienmitteilung

Resultate

IMO-Selektion 2022

Die Selektion des IMO (Internationale Mathematik Olympiade) und des MEMO (Mitteleuropäische Mathematiko Olympiade) Teams ist nun beendet! Die TeilnehmerInnen haben ihr Können beim Lösen der zwölf Aufgaben, aufgeteilt in vier Prüfungen, gezeigt. Mathys Douma erreichte mit 68 Punkten die Höchste Punktzahl. Herzliche Gratulation an ihn, Ricardo Olivo, Bora Olmez, Yanta Wang, Felix Xu und Elia Steinfeld zur Qualifikation für das IMO Team. Sie werden die Schweiz im Juli in Norwegen vertreten!
Gratulation auch an das MEMO Team, bestehend aus Mohamed Bouchouata, Jonah Osterwalder, Yaël Arn, Jerry Schupp, Anna Kokorich und Evelyn Ebneter. Sie werden an der diesjährigen Mitteleuropäischen Mathematik Olympiade in Bern teilnehmen.
Zum Schluss nochmals Hut ab an alle TeilnehmerInnen dieses Jahres zu ihren guten Resulten!

Die Finalrunde 2022 ist abgeschlossen!

Die 25 Schweizer Finalist:innen und zwei Teilnehmenden aus Liechtenstein verbrachten eine Woche in Aarburg mit viel Mathematik aber auch mit zahlreichen Tichu- und anderen Gemeinschaftsspielen.

 

 

Am Ende der Woche stellten die 27 Nachwuchsmathematiker:innen ihr Können während zwei vierstündigen Prüfungen unter Beweis. Herzliche Gratulation an alle Medaillengewinner:innen und insbesondere an Mathys Douma, der mit 43 Punkten als Gewinner hervorging.

 

 

Für die zwölf Medaillengewinner:innen und drei Wildcard-Empfänger:innen geht es bereits in die nächste Runde mit der Teamselektion für die internationale und mitteleuropäische Mathematikolympiade. Ausserdem werden Emily Dikhoff, Evelyn Ebneter, Moyang Zhang und Yanta Wang die Schweiz im April an der diesjährigen European Girl’s Mathematical Olympiad in Ungarn vertreten.

 

Zum Schluss nochmals Hut ab an alle Teilnehmenden für die tollen Leistungen!

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter

Sie kennen jemanden, der sich für die Mathematik-Olympiade interessieren könnte? Empfehlen Sie uns weiter! Egal ob Schülerinnen oder Schüler, Eltern oder Lehrpersonen, je mehr Leute von uns erfahren, desto besser.